The Student News Site of Wheeling High School





Which Season is Best?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

A Rundown of The VMAS


The 39th annual Video Music Awards (VMAs) started out like any other year. With Nicki Minaj as the hostess this year, the night was in good hands. The crowd went wild for NSYNC’s surprise appearance on stage, and each artist’s performance left the room in awe. With such great vibes, it was clear that it would be a big night for many artists. But no one could predict how life changing it would be for the ones that won.

Shakira was one of the many artists who got her time to shine and make history, becoming the first South American artist to win the Video Vanguard Award, an award given to those who have greatly influenced and contributed to pop-culture and music videos. Ice Spice was soon to follow with winning the well deserved Best New Artist award.

Taylor Swift had made history sweeping the floor that night, as she proudly took home nine trophies in the categories Best Music Video, Best Song, Best Visual Effects, Best Pop Video, Best Cinematography and Best Direction, for her hit song “Anti-Hero”. As well as Best Album, Best Artist and Show of the Summer. “This is… I just want to say that the fact that this is a fan voted award means so much to me based on the memories we’ve made recently,” Swift confessed to the audience, when receiving the award for Best Album.

But the night was still young, and Taylor Swift wasn’t the only one who was celebrated, as the night was also big for the genre which has ever growing popularity here in the west, K-pop. Starting off strong, Stray Kids took home the prize for their genre’s very own category, Best K-pop, with their song “S-Class”. BTS’s member Jungkook was next, with his and Latto’s song “Seven”, taking home the Song of the Summer. TOMORROW X TOGETHER, better known as TXT, had taken home their first VMA with a Push Performance of their song “Sugar Rush Ride”. The last K-pop group to snag a VMA was none other than BLACKPINK, successfully bagging the VMAs for Best Group and Best Choreography with their song “Pink Venom”.


Other awards won that night include:

  • Sean “Diddy” Combs won the Global Icon Award after his performance. 
  • Olivia Rodrigo won the Best Editing award for her song “vampire”. 
  • Doja Cat won the Best Art Direction award for her song “Attention”. 
  • Dove Cameron won the Video For Good award for her song “Breakfast”.
  • Måneskin won the Best Rock Video award for their song “THE LONELIEST”.
  • Nicki Minaj won the Best Hip-Hop Video award for her song “Super Freaky Girl”.
  • SZA won the Best R&B Video award for her song “Shirt”.
  • Shakira and Karol G won the Best Collaboration award for their song “TQG”.
  • Selena Gomez and Rema won the Best Afrobeats award for their song “Calm Down”.
  • Anitta won the Best Latin Video with her song “Funk Rave”.
  • Lana Del Ray and John Batiste won Best Alternative Video with their song “Candy Necklace.”


This year’s VMAs was a success like any other year. The winners were well deserved, and the performances did not disappoint. In these months ahead, anticipation rises in music lovers alike to be blessed with new songs made by their favorite artists. And maybe in the next year, those songs will be lucky enough to win a VMA as well.

Leave a Comment
More to Discover
About the Contributor
Madisyn (Paps) Hunt
Madisyn (Paps) Hunt, Lead Page Editor
Madisyn is the lead page editor and a writer for our website. Lately, they've been experimenting with going their own way. Madisyn's favorite day is High School Journalism Day, when everyone from the Spokesman gets to go to Northwestern for a day of fun. "Change can be difficult, but it's how we grow. It can be the hardest thing to realize you can't hold on to something forever. Sometimes, you have to let it go; but, of the things you let go, you'd be surprised what makes its way back to you." - Anne Boonchuy, from Amphibia

Comments (0)

All WCAT News Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *